Big city dreams for a small-city boy

{Green sleeves was all my joy}
13 December 2003 @ 2:17 PM

BGM: Jon Secada - "O Holy Night"
Wanting: a Christmas like I remember them
Wearing: navy blue and grey ON hoodie, navy blue and dark red ON jersey, black AZ Jean Co carpenter pants

I'm so taking a sabbatical from this for a while. Some of it is due in part to my not having much plaguing me at this moment, but more because it's finals time at the University and the ILC is totally closed to everyone but students. They've even gone so far as to card people to make sure that they have a CatCard so that they may enter. I'm just a this side of SOL on that one.

Where am I now? No, I am not at the Internet Convenience Store that's right on Congress *shudders at the thought*, but rather I am at the Cyber Center at Wingspan with my brother while the winter edition of the 4th Avenue Street Fair goes on down the street. I might just go there and browse at all the gaudy offerings, we'll see.

For now, I've been in such a Christmasy mood that I've had a whole bunch of songs playing in my head for the past few days now. For the sake of filler, I'll dispose a list of my all-time favorite holiday songs; most of them contemporary (most of them coming from the Maybe This Christmas albums); they're less Jesus-centric that way.

1. Band Aid - "Do They Know It's Christmas?"
2. Celine Dion - "O Holy Night"
3. Jimmy Eat World - "12.23.95"
4. U2 - "Christmas (Baby Please Come Home)"
5. John Lennon - "Happy Christmas (War Is Over)"
6. No Doubt - "Oi To The World"
7. Vanessa Carlton - "Green Sleeves"
8. The Barenaked Ladies featuring Sarah McLachlan - "Come Rest Ye Merry Gentlemen"
9. Phantom Planet - "Winter Wonderland"
10. Coldplay - "Have Yourself A Merry Little Christmas"
11. Loreena McKennitt - "Snow"
12. Sixpence None The Richer - "It Came Upon A Midnight Clear"

I'll be back in about a week, if not sooner. Happy holidays!

~A (O night devine)

.

{Invernal's happy thoughts}
09 December 2003 @ 9:49 AM

BGM: The Beatles - "Let It Be"
Wanting: for everything to turn out alright
Wearing: grey and navy blue ON hoodie, don't remember exactly what under that, and grey ON cargo pants

Happiness is...

Calling in to work when you're running late. So late that the trick that you do by not clocking in and feigning forgetfulness on your part won't do any good.

Saying that the reason why you won't be in is because you need to take a mental health day. Not a stretch of the truth by any means, just merely a reveling in the fact that such a thing can be said and it not being labeled a broad-faced lie.

Taking the time otherwise peopled by work and going to McDonald's and treating yourself to an oh-so-irresistible sausage, egg and cheese McGriddle.

Cruising down Speedway watching all of the other 9 to 5ers scurry along their way to work, abandoning all sense of civility and cutting each other off, only to meet back up again at the next red light.

Enjoying said breakfast food indulgence item while parked on 4th Avenue and watching the shop owners tidy up their piece of the sidewalk as they prepare to open for what appears to be a long and prosperous Tuesday.

Walking down from 4th all the way to the University, all the while enjoying the sudden frigid coldness that is normally associated with December and watching all the beautiful college bois walk to their classes.

Taking this day off, knowing full well that one needs the money, especially in this season of holiday madness. It�s taking the day off as a way to rest up because one knows full well that there is a storm of responsibility coming and one will need to be without falter to get through it.

~A (Don�t stop)

.

{Friday Five - Monday, 8 Dec '03}
08 December 2003 @ 12:06 AM

BGM: Tracy Chapman - "Fast Car"
Wanting: Christmas with all my family
Wearing: same as earlier (which in turn is the same thing that I wore yesterday, which is STILL clean BTW)

Because Oscar and I are so damn cool that we don't have to do a Friday 5 on a Friday. Or even a recent one for that matter; this is from about this same time last year:

1. What holiday or holidays do you celebrate this time of year?
Christmas, definitely. Though more for an aesthetic reason and for the gifts. I get all the warm gushy stuff, with only a fraction of the Jesus.

2. What was the best gift you have ever received?
A non-Christmas gift; Thelma, my tempermental '96 Chevy S10 pick-up given to me by my parents back in Feb. '01.

3. What was the worst gift you've ever given?
Hehe... nothing. I put all of me into my gifts that I give, so it's either something splendiferous or nothing at all. Troubles with money at this time of year mandating me do the latter on more occasions than I care to mention.

4. Where will you be celebrating the holidays? Are you hosting? Going away?
I'm working on Christmas. Ain't that some shit? But, hopefully in return I will be getting New Year's off. A weird, convoluted trade-off that the genius (hope that sarcasm comes through) higher-ups at work came up with.

5. If you could spend the holidays with someone who isn't around, who would it be with? Why?
My mom and dad, it's pretty obvious.

.

{PMSing}
07 December 2003 @ 11:50 PM

BGM: Coldplay - "We Never Change"
Wanting: nada
Wearing: same as yesterday (and yes, it IS still clean!)

I've come to the conclusion that unless I can somehow go about it another way, I'm most likely never going to be diagnosed as clinically depressed. Why? Because I'm never feeling that way for that long. Unless I'm mistaken, it's still for two weeks straight, right? Yeah, the longest I think I could fathom being depressed is a week. Even then there are bound to be spurts of hugs and puppies in there. Guess I can't even do THAT right, huh? *Laughs*

Whatever. As an artist, I can chalk that up to eccentricity and no one would be the wiser. Kooky behavior such as this is expected, n'est pas?

~A (That's life)

.


{where do i start?}
i am... a dancer and a dreamer, latino, gay, a singer, a poet, an artist, a son, a brother, no one's lover, way too obsessed with sailor moon for my own good, a romantic, temporarily unemployed, and too much more to list here

{emotional me}
The current mood of invernal at www.imood.com

{fly me to the moon}
previous
next
now
older
bio
random
x!
rings
fans
design
diaryland

{reach out and touch me}
email
guestbook
notes
aim
profile

{i lurve these people}
abby
cosmicnoise
pixiesticks
rb colorkid
dosei
expurgate
margaret cho
kitty magic
punkstyle
trannyboi
rusty
bluelaser
randix
quatrelenium
earthensoul
booth-bitch
kilgoretrout
dizboy
devian
tubaboy
grenjelybean
patw-21
sparklz24
cactustree
ihateshoes
rushofblood
lvrebelman
jarf
bloodsun
piecesof8
simages
lv2write00
favoritesong
gaygamer
robinthecity

{sprites!}
Sailor Luna: Chibi-usa, reenvisioned Sailor Moon: at least this gif has the ponytails hanging properly; BEHIND her Tuxedo Kamen: aka - T3H M45K3D MULL37
Sailor Jupiter: who? Sailor Mercury: once was lost, now a geek Sailor Mars: Venus' girltoy Sailor Venus: Mars' daddy

{cool-style}
i was always blue-green cuz we are living in a material world...
# Gay Diary ?
Haruka to Michiru kirei
invited by the new age, i am sailorneptune, acting gracefully
typical genki schoolgirls by day, ass-kicking heroines in color-coded mini-skirts by night!
watch out for that mercury chick, she'll inhale you in one breath
we never change, do we?
can wang
L33T
Gone, but not forgotten: 
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 
~1997-2003~
It was a thing
Searing Idolitray - The Legion of Nerdy Doom Page
I adoped Andrew!