Big city dreams for a small-city boy

{Winter Somethingland}
14 December 2004 @ 4:02 PM

BGM: Rachel Yamagata - "Wore Me Down"
Wanting: some sleep
Wearing: grey FTL long-sleeved undershirt, sage ON 'NY' tee, tan ON cargo pants

This past weekend was really productive for me. Unfortunately, though I had copious amounts of homework to get done, it didn't make it onto my itinerary. Within the last few days, I managed to spend a nice chunk of change (from what I finally got from selling my mom's house) on some DVDs, Christmas stuff and food. I just want to say that I've never felt the holiday financial pinch until now. I've only gotten three people done out of my list of 15 or so, even though I've bought lots of goodies. How is that so? Well, to be quite honest, I've been treating myself to some holiday cheer. Living it up like I've never spent a dollar before and acting like I'm stocking up on luxury items for some weird, unforseeable apocalypse. I'm so bad. But at least it'll be an entertaining one; I got the DVDs Tombstone, Chicago (I'm probably the last gay man on earth to have this in his collection), Down With Love and the CD album "Hot Fuss" from The Killers. My brother (of really questionable taste), on the other hand got the following DVDs: The Girl Next Door (weird flick), John Q (alright), William Shakespeare's Romeo + Juliet (wow, I never realized that Leo DiCaprio can't act), 10 Things I Hate About You (the only real good movie in his possession), What Women Want (*retches*), Men of Honor (boring) and because he's totally in love with Amanda Bynes, What A Girl Wants. I'm my family's only hope as far as tasteful cinema goes.

But it's not all glitz and greed. I've been making a conscious effort to try and get everyone scored away on my list. I've gotten a gift already for my dear friends Steve and Gloria and Matt is my Secret Santa this year, so that means that I have to give him two gifts. See, this is the first time that our circle (whom I'll dub the Scoobies from here on out) has thought of doing a Secret Santa, but to keep it from being a mundane thing, we decided that whoever's name we got, that we'd get them a joke gift, something that's so typically them. Like for example, Matt's a vegan who fits the hippie stereotype practically to a tee (except that he doesn't have those dirty dredlocks and will actually wear leather shoes), so we joked around that it would be so funny to get him a book on macrame or something along those lines. But me being the unconventionalist that I think I'd like to be, I decided that he'd be expecting something to do with macrame, so I was thinking of getting him something he wouldn't think of. So, needless to say, I'm stuck on what to get him. I expect that he'll be handing out knit caps for everyone (he knits, by the way), so that's cool and creative. I wish I could give something that I could be proud of. I know! He's a bigger Green Day fan than I am, so I'll just buy him the American Idiot album. Fabulous idea! Now I only need to get something for, friends Ruben and Adam, my brother, my grandma, my cousins Alexis, Abby, Elizabeth (Lily) and Karina (Kari), and my uncle David and my aunt Lupita. That's ten more gifts that I have to buy! I've thought of copping out and getting something for both Alexis and Abby and something for Lily and Kari, seeing as they're sisters. Still, that's eight presents that I haven't even thought of yet. I thought my brother would like a hoodie, but I'd like it to be something of a surprise. I've consulted my mom and my uncle on what to get my grandma, and they think something like a pair of comfortable shoes would do her wonders, so I'm leaning toward that. Ruben and Adam are so hard to shop for! They're so trendy and fashionable that I dare not give them apparel because Alanis knows it'd be 1) too expensive and 2) might be against their fashion sensibility. Plus, I don't know their sizes. Finally, David and Lupita are also going to be tough. I'd like to be nice to them since they've almost always gotten me something (I've never been able to return the favor because I've always been pretty broke), but I don't know what to do for them. *Sighs* C'est la vie... I guess this is why so many people dread the holidays.

But, aside from all that consumerism (well, most of that consumerism), I did a good turn to the family and bought our tree on Sunday. It was so gorgeous and really humble, an approximately 5ft. silvery-green noble fir. When we got it home, we had to leave it right in the middle of the living room because my grandma had just earlier gotten a new dining set (a table and full set of chairs), but hadn't gotten the old one out yet. So, early Monday morning, she wakes my brother and I to help get the old table out (it was heavy as hell) and rearrange the living room to accomodate the Christmas tree. The next part horrified me a bit, when we tried to put the tree into its stand, it wouldn't go in all the way because the trunk was too short. It was bad enough that it already had the four holes that I had to bore into it with the screws to hold it in place, but my grandma had to end up cutting the lower brances to lengthen the trunk. I almost cried to see my beautiful tree be mutilated more than it needed to be. Happily enough, by the early afternoon (about 1:00-ish) I had managed to lift my spirits a bit and took on the task of decorating my lovely tree. My grandma was tired and said she didn't have the patience to decorate it and my brother wasn't into that sort of thing, so I did all myself. Come 7:00, I was finally done with it and couldn't be prouder. My l33t skills and eye for detail (IMO) are showcased perfectly in this fabulous, candy-colored masterpiece that looks like it came out of a Winter Somethingland catalog. I love it.

Here's a picture:

Isn't it pretty?

3+

.

{Say hello to good times}
07 December 2004 @ 4:50 PM

BGM: Jimmy Eat World - "Futures"
Wanting: nothing
Wearing: two-tone grey and dark red sweater, ON denim jeans, black/tan Steve Madden Shooters

So, as a result of my slow process of weaning myself from here, I totally forgot to post a pic showcasing the final stage of my hair shortening. If anyone still cares, let me know what you think:

*BE ADVISED: Serious chubbiness ahead!*

Whatchoo lookin' at?

3+ {I always could count on futures}

.

{World AIDS Day}
01 December 2004 @ 7:05 PM

BGM: --
Wanting: --
Wearing: --

Remember those who have been lost. Keep from having this disease claim any more innocent lives.

.

{And visit me in hell}
30 November 2004 @ 6:17 PM

BGM: Green Day - "Homecoming (part 5: We're coming home again)"
Wanting: nyet
Wearing: aqua green ON polo-style shirt, grey slacks,

Alanis bless gloves that allow one to hold a cigarette. Two things I'd like to say really, number one, it's damned cold out... which by my book is simply marvy. Secondly, I'm going to attempt to quit smoking.

The weather has been really erratic the past few days and I think that it's finally settled down to a nice cold winter-type that should be something more normal for this time of year. The bad thing about it is that while cruising around the University campus, I still see some atrocities against fashion that it could really drive one to justifiable homicide. I mean, just earlier, I saw this one guy (obviously straight) wearing an indigo vinyl pullover with a fur-trimmed collar, plaid multi-shaded blue pajama pants and brown flip-flops ON AN EFFING MOTORIZED SCOOTER. If that isn't asking for fashion police brutality, then I don't know WHAT is!

*Deep breath*

Anyway, I'm quitting smoking. The reason for it is because I found out that smokers lose the melanin in their hair (the stuff that gives it its color) faster than non-smokers, causing premature greyness. So, seeing as I already have enough stray white hairs because of heredity, I'll just quit while I'm ahead. Which kinda sucks, because now I'm going to have to find another way to look all cool and sophisticated while trying to get lung cancer.

C'est la vie.

3+ {Home}

.

{Dearly beloved, are you listening?}
27 November 2004 @ 6:55 PM

BGM: Green Day - "Jesus of Suburbia"
Wanting: nothing, I'm pretty satisfied right now
Wearing: midnight blue, long-sleeved ON linen button-front shirt, grey ON cargo pants

I haven't had the urge to update here as much as I used to. I think that it's because I've been sinning and using livejournal. I started a blog there back in April and really slowly, I've been switching preferances. At times I feel dirty, like I'm one of those self-hating queers that 'find Jesus,' repent and renounce their old lifestyle. Though, it's sometimes a Christina Aguilera kinda dirrty too.

But yeah, I'm not quite sure if I want to share the url to that yet. If I do, it'll be to a select few... if anyone still bothers to read this.

BTW, Thanksgiving was great. I cooked for my friends and though it didn't go according to plan, I still think it was �ber-fabu and I'm so glad that I don't have to play host very often.

3+ {I don't care if you don't}

.


{where do i start?}
i am... a dancer and a dreamer, latino, gay, a singer, a poet, an artist, a son, a brother, no one's lover, way too obsessed with sailor moon for my own good, a romantic, temporarily unemployed, and too much more to list here

{emotional me}
The current mood of invernal at www.imood.com

{fly me to the moon}
previous
next
now
older
bio
random
x!
rings
fans
design
diaryland

{reach out and touch me}
email
guestbook
notes
aim
profile

{i lurve these people}
abby
cosmicnoise
pixiesticks
rb colorkid
dosei
expurgate
margaret cho
kitty magic
punkstyle
trannyboi
rusty
bluelaser
randix
quatrelenium
earthensoul
booth-bitch
kilgoretrout
dizboy
devian
tubaboy
grenjelybean
patw-21
sparklz24
cactustree
ihateshoes
rushofblood
lvrebelman
jarf
bloodsun
piecesof8
simages
lv2write00
favoritesong
gaygamer
robinthecity

{sprites!}
Sailor Luna: Chibi-usa, reenvisioned Sailor Moon: at least this gif has the ponytails hanging properly; BEHIND her Tuxedo Kamen: aka - T3H M45K3D MULL37
Sailor Jupiter: who? Sailor Mercury: once was lost, now a geek Sailor Mars: Venus' girltoy Sailor Venus: Mars' daddy

{cool-style}
i was always blue-green cuz we are living in a material world...
# Gay Diary ?
Haruka to Michiru kirei
invited by the new age, i am sailorneptune, acting gracefully
typical genki schoolgirls by day, ass-kicking heroines in color-coded mini-skirts by night!
watch out for that mercury chick, she'll inhale you in one breath
we never change, do we?
can wang
L33T
Gone, but not forgotten: 
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 
~1997-2003~
It was a thing
Searing Idolitray - The Legion of Nerdy Doom Page
I adoped Andrew!