Big city dreams for a small-city boy

{Touched (in IBT's) for the very first time...}
14 June 2003 @ 2:15 AM

BGM: "Drive" by the Cars
Wanting: to be picked up on
Wearing:

(Well, not really...)

Tonight was Shaunda's party. We didn't do anything epic. No tying her up, no tossing her off a bridge wrapped in a blanket, nothing that we would normally do.

What we did do is lounge around in Ruben's pool and actually watch Friday the 13th DVDs. How ghetto fabulous is that?

I met Fox earlier at the Lounge. He read to me his new ideas for the movie that we're doing and then we headed on over. First I stopped off at the house to get some cute swimgear and then we went to Border's and get something worthy of Shaunda. We settled for a Greatest Hits Clash CD and a card with the picture of a cat wearing cat-shaped sunglasses.

Once we got over to Rube's we partied. I couldn't, however, get to indulge too long because I knew Matt would be off soon. So at around 11:30 Fox and I readied ourselves to go down and get him.

That was actually a really interesting experience. Fox, who still only has a learner's permit, drove the car. I didn't feel like driving and Fox (in accordance with Arizona Department of Transportation laws) had to accumulate some night driving time anyway. So off we went to where our dreams lay - I mean, downtown to 4th Avenue. Now, Fox isn't the world's best driver, but then again he isn't the worst. So it was interesting seeing him try to negotiate the busy Tucson city streets. You know, you never realize how much it doesn't matter when you get cut off by someone when you're not the driver being cut off.

Anyway, once we reach 4th, Matt hasn't called and we figure he's either still closing up or he got "picked up" (and I use the sarcastic quotation marks to suggest that Matt has the There's Something About Mary Curse, which I'll have to explain some other time). So after Fox does a near-perfect job of parking my Mina, we decide to kill time by going into IBT's (seeing as I've never been). Apparently, the Fire Marshall came down big time on them because there was a line and only a few people were being let in at a time. Fox and I killed easily about 15 minutes standing in front of no more than ten people.

Once we finally got inside, I made Fox lead the way (seeing as he was a lot more familiar with the area), but I made sure that I took his hand. We made our way over to the dance floor. That was an interesting bit, let me tell you. I must say that my self-worth level dropped a few points just being there. Not only was every guy there absolutely gorgeous (especially the go-go boy dancing in his size-too-small thong), but there were mirrors and I couldn't help but catch a glimpse of myself acting a fool attempting to dance.

Mercifully, we didn't last long in there. We made our way to the back patio, where in the process Matt finally called me. After Fox chatted up a couple of his friends that he hadn't seen in a while, we decided to go over to go get what we came to 4th Avenue for.

After that, we pretty much capped the night by going back to Ruben's to get our stuff. Apparently the party had ended while we were gone. Fox drove himself home and then Matt and I left.

It was a pretty peaceful night and I'm finally glad that I'm no longer a gay bar virgin.

~A

.

{And Miranda makes 21}
12 June 2003 @ 5:48 PM

BGM: "Ready Steady Go" by the Melons
Wanting: more martinis!
Wearing:

I've come to realize that no matter how good of friends you are with some people, some people you just cannot be around when drunk. Tuesday was Miranda's 21st birthday. Which goes without saying, we had to go to the bar and get all sh*t-faced.

Our chosen party spot was The Shelter. I had never been (in fact, I'm such a loser that I haven't even been to a bar since my birthday), so I thought it would be a swanky locale to piss the night away. It's really nice inside, all of the pretty colored lights make it seem like one's in a giant Christmas tree, with substantially less pine needles of course.

Anyway, we experimented with some drinks (really expensive ones too). I think I've come to my conclusion that my signature drink is a Carmel Apple Martini. Second to that, I would have to say a watered-down White Russian (and by watered-down I mean drink it so slow that all of the ice melts).

It was a rather interesting night. We arrived at about 6:00 and didn't leave until right after midnight. At that point, the bartenders cut Miranda and Ali off, as they had spent somewhere in the vicinity of $60-$80 dollars combined. Luckily for me I still got to drink. I think if it weren't for the soberingly high price tag, I would have become an alcoholic that night.

Ahh... but there was funness all around. There was singing (not from me), crying (not from me either) and vomiting (again, not from me). Now as I write this Miranda is enjoying the trip of a lifetime to Australia. For the next three weeks I'll be left to remember her only by our wild night on Tuesday. That and the faint smell of vomit in my car.

~A

.

{Sign me up, MTV says I need to be on the Real World!}
11 June 2003 @ 11:10 AM

BGM: "Girl's Not Grey" by AFI
Wanting: Danny from RW 9 & Shane from RR 11; together; naked
Wearing:

This is courtesy of Jono, who in turn got the quiz at MTV.com

Your Real World Type: The All-American Guy

Your Official Real World Bio:
Handsome and charming, Aaron is the perfect picture of an all-American guy...who just happens to be gay. Hailing from Tucson, AZ, Aaron seems to attract the attention of everyone when he walks in to a room. Aside from his great body, his natural charisma seems to have girls and guys flocking to him no matter where he goes. Aaron makes friends easily and usually acts as the peacemaker in his circle of friends and family. He's far from just another handsome face--Aaron is a man of integrity, intelligence and complexity.

Wow. I am amazed. Never before have I taken a personality test that has flattered me so much. Also never before have I taken one that was SO TRUE! I rock! ^_^

Paris Cast Member Most Likely to Identify With: Ace (at first I thought he was annoying, but then I kinda grew to like him. Plus, he's such a hottie!)

Paris Cast Member Most Likely to Hook Up With: Simon (That is unless, Ace decides to dump his girlfriend and come out as gay).

Paris Cast Member Most Likely to Fight With: CT (Grr!)

And here are a few from me:

Paris Cast Member Most Likely to Attack With a Set of Tweezers and Clippers: CT (Someone needs to get rid of those caterpillars he has on his face!)

Speaking of eyebrows...

Paris Cast Member Most Likely to Get Plucking Tips From: Simon

~A

.

{SUNDAY SUNDAY SUNDAY}
09 June 2003 @ 11:53 PM

BGM: "Sugarhigh" by Coyote Shivers
Wanting: someone else to think of stuff to do!
Wearing:

Saturday's dance was cool, I got an awesome Club EON staff shirt out of it and I got to get my groove on with TK, Matt and various other fellow groovers.

Sunday was a very eventful day, given especially that I slept in until 2:00-ish. I had stayed up until about 4:30 watching the first few episodes of the Real World: Paris and Road Rules: South Pacific. They were both really good; it seems like this will shape out to be a very good season for both shows. Anyway, at about 9:30 in the morning I awaken to hear my phone buzzing on the table. I pick it up and notice that it's Mom calling. Finally, she's able to connect with me. We talk about various things, one of which is her trying to convince me that I should move back in with her when she gets out. I know that as a son, it's my duty to be... well, dutiful and be helpful to her. I didn't have the heart to tell her then that my plans didn't really include moving back home. It would be too much of a hassle going to work and getting out to hang with my friends. However, like all aspects of my life, this is most likely going to be subject to revision, which I now know to expect. Other than that, it was really nice talking to her.

After that, I went back to sleep and would not emerge for five more hours. Let me say this to all of the people out there who take it for granted, sleeping in is the best thing that you can do by yourself (in a non-sexual manner). People have no idea how great it feels. Unfortunately, there's my acquired productivity that wants to be doing something. Like, I'm not able to relax comfortably without having done stuff that would make me feel like I earned the time to rest (like work for example).

So after a couple of hours of just doing a whole lot of nothing (of which included watching Coldplay perform on SNL), Fox calls me. He's at this theatre group on Speedway and asks me if I can pick him up. In addition, he suggests us hanging out, which means that I'd either have to stay out with him and find something to do or see if I can bring him back over to the house and hang there. Well, I asked Matt if I could. To my disappointment, I can't and it turns out that I'll have to be out on the street wasting gas and have to find a way to keep myself entertained.

Which turned out to be not such a problem after all. After getting all presentable, I go get Fox and randomly decide to go get some pizza. While eating, we try to formulate a Boredom Elimination plan of action. While talking, we speak of how this would be a lot easier if we lived in an amusement park town ("Disneyland again?"). But our eventual plan came to either renting some movies and going back to Fox's apartment, or traversing up to Mt. Lemmon. Either way, it would be more fun if we could get some more people in our party, because not to speak badly of our dynamic (Fox's and mine), but things are always better when there are more people. We call out to Steven, Ruben, Shaunda and Matt (who would only go out depending on what we were doing). Well, we are only able to make contact with the latter two, Shaunda agreed seeing as she had told Ruben that no one's called her, and Matt just wasn't feeling well.

We gather up Shaunda and traverse up towards ye olde mountain. I know that going up there is more than my poor car can handle, but I push her anyway, promising her that I'll get her fixed as soon as I can get $300 saved.

Upon arriving of our usual space, we head towards this large rock and attempt to climb it, all the while chatting like we usually do. As we were walking down, I had noticed two figures standing atop of an adjacent rock. I had given them no mind, seeing as people being up on the mountain was more than likely. But as we were talking, I hear Ruben's all-too familiar voice yelling from that rock, "Oh no you guys did not just follow me up here!" Slightly taken aback, but more entertained by the humor of the situation, we go up to meet him. He's on a date with a dude from Oklahoma or somwhere in the Midwest. We laugh at the incredible irony of the situation and hang out for a while. While we were doing so, apparently this green comet-like object streaks across the sky just behind us. Shaunda and I miss it because we had our backs turned the other way. But according to everyone else, it was very spherical and didn't look like an meteor at all. Anyway, a while later, Ruben decides that he's hungry and decides to take his date down to get something to eat. Not to take away from Ruben's hunger, but I think that he just wanted to get away and keep us from making an idiot out of him. We soon grow tired of the altitude and decide to go back to Fox's and watch his borrowed season one of Futurama.

While we watch, Fox reads to me what he has on his horror movie spoof so far. It is so cool, my character's name is Travis (I got to name myself) and I'm so kick-ass and I get to tell people off by saying, "Oh go write a song about it." I can't wait until we start filming.

Three episodes into our Futurama-rama, I get a call from Randix and Ali. Apparently, Ali needed to meet one of her friends at the cemetary on Ft. Lowell and Oracle. It was about midnight and Ali, not to take any credit away from her (cuz she rocks hardcore!), is more than a little uneasy about traversing across fields of dead, especially at night. Miranda is of course, not about doing anything scary, so the only contender left is me, who most likely unbeknownst to them is a big clucking chicken. I agree anyway and Miranda drops Alison of at Fox's apartment then I leave in my car over to le jardin de la mort.

We enter and make a round or two of the cemetary in the car before we decide to park somewhere and walk the rest of the way. The way I understood it, we were going to meet one of Ali's friends who is an �ber-goth and not surprisingly likes to haunt (no pun intended) the graveyard. Once we exit the safety (and arguably higher sanctity) of my car, Ali too my hand. Now if I weren't gayer than an Easter Basket, I would be totally in love with Alison (she's a woman after my own heart!) and I would've probably taken that as a gesture of love, but I didn't. My fruity self just took it as a sign of assurance and that I'm not the only one that's about ready to just disappear leaving a cloud of smoke in the shape of my body.

As we walk around, we chat and try to keep ourselves from going insane with fear. Alison tells me that I am the Xander to her Buffy. I was really pleased by that. I absolutely *heart* Xander's character the most. Don't get me wrong, I still *heart* Andrew and Angel, but Xander's the real dude that has it all together. With that role assignment, I felt a little more confidence and we continued our walk, scanning for Ali's friend (Chris is his name) and talking about some anime and Buffy-related stuff.

Then on-foot exploration continues and we cover nearly ever square foot of the cemetary. As much as I didn't want to admit, we couldn't find Chris. Ali told me that he was good at blending in, so even if he was there, we apparently weren't visible enough for him to call our attention. At about 2:00, Fox calls me and reminds me that Shaunda needs to get home. I agree, let Ali know that we have to throw in the towel and head back to Fox's apartment.

Once we have Shaunda in carriage, I head for their respective homes. On the way, we talk about some more Buffy stuff. Ali, Miranda and Ryan from the Rocky cast are going to go down to EON and audition for the BTVS musical production of "Once More With Feeling" on Tuesday (which should probably be today once this is posted). Alison will shoot for Buffy or Tara, and if she doesn't get it, she says that she will go for Anya and I have to be Xander ^_^ Miranda will go for Willow and Ryan will try out for the monster. We all agreed that the best candidate for Giles would have to be Matt. This was agreed upon due to his mannerisms so closely resemble Giles' Britishness. I'll have to see how that goes.

Today I got my Empire Records soundtrack in the mail. I absolutely *heart* it, however, there are two glaring exceptions; one, it doesn't have that angry-sounding Cranberries tune on there that I so love, and two, the version of "Sugarhigh" isn't very long and it doesn't have Renee Zellweger screeching on there either. It almost ruins it for me, but I'll survive, I'll just have to download them some other time. Besides, it doesn't matter, I'm Pink!

I see the world in Pink
Pink: You see the world in bright pink. The world is a
happy, happy place! You love all people and
things!! Life is great! You're just like a
happy child. Spread the cheer.
Made by
Sara


What color do you see the world in?
brought to you by Quizilla

Whew! What an exhaustive entry. Now I must sleep!

~A

.

{Bread like me}
09 June 2003 @ 10:19 PM

BGM: none
Wanting: mmm... food
Wearing:

Long weekend update coming...

This was my first:

What Flavour Are You? I taste like Bread.I taste like Bread.

I am a staple in almost everyone's diet. Friends like me are a complement to any other friends I get on with almost everyone, remaining mostly in the background, but providing substance when it would otherwise be lacking. What Flavour Are You?

Runner-up:

What Flavour Are You? I am Vanilla Flavoured.I am Vanilla Flavoured.

I am one of the most popular flavours in the world. Subtle and smooth, I go reasonably with anyone, and rarely do anything to offend. I can be expected to be blending in in society. What Flavour Are You?

~A

.

{Rings fever}
07 June 2003 @ 10:03 PM

BGM: "Days Go By" by Dirty Vegas
Wanting: to breathe
Wearing:

Jesus H. Christ! I only set out to organize my d-rings so that they would be prettier lookin' over them being a big o' cluttered mess and that takes me over a frikin' hour! Jeez, I need to be downtown partying... I might as well live it up too, Global Warning (this rave I was supposed to go to) got cancelled.

.


{where do i start?}
i am... a dancer and a dreamer, latino, gay, a singer, a poet, an artist, a son, a brother, no one's lover, way too obsessed with sailor moon for my own good, a romantic, temporarily unemployed, and too much more to list here

{emotional me}
The current mood of invernal at www.imood.com

{fly me to the moon}
previous
next
now
older
bio
random
x!
rings
fans
design
diaryland

{reach out and touch me}
email
guestbook
notes
aim
profile

{i lurve these people}
abby
cosmicnoise
pixiesticks
rb colorkid
dosei
expurgate
margaret cho
kitty magic
punkstyle
trannyboi
rusty
bluelaser
randix
quatrelenium
earthensoul
booth-bitch
kilgoretrout
dizboy
devian
tubaboy
grenjelybean
patw-21
sparklz24
cactustree
ihateshoes
rushofblood
lvrebelman
jarf
bloodsun
piecesof8
simages
lv2write00
favoritesong
gaygamer
robinthecity

{sprites!}
Sailor Luna: Chibi-usa, reenvisioned Sailor Moon: at least this gif has the ponytails hanging properly; BEHIND her Tuxedo Kamen: aka - T3H M45K3D MULL37
Sailor Jupiter: who? Sailor Mercury: once was lost, now a geek Sailor Mars: Venus' girltoy Sailor Venus: Mars' daddy

{cool-style}
i was always blue-green cuz we are living in a material world...
# Gay Diary ?
Haruka to Michiru kirei
invited by the new age, i am sailorneptune, acting gracefully
typical genki schoolgirls by day, ass-kicking heroines in color-coded mini-skirts by night!
watch out for that mercury chick, she'll inhale you in one breath
we never change, do we?
can wang
L33T
Gone, but not forgotten: 
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 
~1997-2003~
It was a thing
Searing Idolitray - The Legion of Nerdy Doom Page
I adoped Andrew!