Big city dreams for a small-city boy

{Who am I to disagree?}
30 August 2003 @ 2:39 PM

BGM: "Sweet Dreams" by The Eurythmics
Wanting: more money
Wearing: blue/red ON jersey-style tee, grey WF1 shorts

So I think I got a new job. It's not that I've quit Info (yet), but I seemed to have sparked the interest of some nice family members at a realty company in the Southwest part of town. I have to be in to do some random office work in about an hour. I hope this goes well, I need some spending money! Wish me luck!

Sweet Dreams
"Sweet Dreams" (by Eurythmics)
Sweet dreams are made of this
Who am I to disagree?
Travel the world and the seven seas
Everybody's looking for something
Some of them want to use you
Some of them want to get used by you
Some of them want to abuse you
Some of them want to be abused



Which 80's Song Fits You?
brought to you by Quizilla

{Hold your head, keep your head up}

Toshiro
TOSHIRO: talented; intelligent
People of your personality type should visit:
www.life-blood.cjb.net



What would your Japanese name be? (male)
brought to you by Quizilla

{Sweet! My name sounds cool AND it's an accurate representation!}

~A (Movin' on)

.

{Hello, Mr. Phoeniix}
30 August 2003 @ 1:09 AM

BGM: "Boys of Summer" by DJ Sammy
Wanting: Phoeniix
Wearing: same as earlier

Ohh... I was hoping to catch Jono online for some late night banter, he wasn't on though. Damned time differential.

Anyway, I had such an awesome night. We had our first official reading for Fox's movie (Wicked Designs aka Run Stupid Bitch, Run) in the clubhouse of his apartment. Almost everyone made it, with the exception of Domino, Matt and Steve. The rest of the cast included; Fox, Dorian, Gloria, Bryce and Fox's new friend Fiona. I even got my brother to show up! I was so psyched about that, even though he did show up an hour late and missed all of his good lines. But next week we get to do it again. Hopefully, we'll get a fuller roster *knocks on wood*.

Afterwards, we trekked out to the IHOP on Grant and I-10 for some late night chatting and keeping with the whole solidarity thing. It was fun. I rode over with Gloria and Dorian in Ruben's Jeep. We listened to one of his flagrantly gay burned CDs. Our driving soundtrack consisted of Tatu, Jewel, DJ Sammy and Johnny McGovern. Riding with Ruben is always so cool, because I feel so free and even a little magickal.

Once we arrived at the IHOP and were waiting to seated, this hot little Asian-fusion waiter who's sitting in the lobby using the phone tells me that he likes my bag ("Is he flirting?" I ask myself). He seems like family, he has on those oh-so-chic thick black framed glasses, and a leather wristband with stars on it. After telling him where I bought my bag (which I really fell bad about now because I went to Blogger and perused their store to see if I could post a picture of it, only to find that they don't seem to sell it anymore), I see his name tag. His name is Phoeniix (spelled correctly, with two I's). I then volley the flirt back and say that I think his name is so awesome and how it's the last name of my favorite actor (it's Joaquin, Mr. Phoenix if you're nasty). He then did a surprise move on me and said that he knew about him (most [gay] guys don't even know who he is) and told me how he thought he was such a great actor. I was so giddy.

Phoeniix seated us and we proceeded to do as we normally do when our group of queers is so large, we made a flagrant show of it that actually seemed to hasten the stay of some way-straight guys sitting at the booth behind us. We talked a little more about the movie and I pointed out a mullet to Dorian, causing her nearly to vomit up her Funny Face pancake that she persuaded Phoeniix to let her order from the Kids' Menu.

When we left and finally got the disaster which was paying the bill in order (damn IHOP for not doing separate checks!), we cleared out of there post-haste. A larger group than ours arrived; Bryce's dozen or so pals from the Yuma dorm. In the midst of all the goings-on, Phoeniix had to go clear off our table and add more seats for the Yumans. I didn't get a chance to say bye to him. :*( Oh well, I'll make sure we come back to see him again! Especially if Blogger gets back to me on my query about their MIA messenger bag.

~A (I never will forget those nights, I wonder if it was a dream)

.

{Random thoughts}
29 August 2003 @ 4:02 PM

BGM: "Like a Virgin" by Jim Broadbent and Richard Roxburgh (from Moulin Rouge)
Wanting: I dunno
Wearing: grey ON ringer tee, navy blue ON shorts, black flip-flops

I'm resurrecting my Random Thoughts entries. Back in my days of questionable differing formidability, I would oft pepper my entries with such completely out-of-left-field musings with no real structure or point to them at all. It was most often done for the sake of an entry and just a way to vent whatever thoughts were flooding my worried mind.

I probably shouldn't call title the entries "random thoughts," just to keep them separate from my Bluelaser ones, but for the sake of saving me the time to think of what to call them right now, I'll just do that for this one...

So yesterday I tried to take out my brand-new cartiledge earring and put in a hoop, but it wasn't exactly forthcoming, so when I did get it out, I drew some blood with it. Not very pretty. It was only after I spent a good 15 minutes both cleaning it (it kept falling onto the dirrty floor) and trying to stick it back in (teehee!). Not fun. I was sweating bullets by the time I completed that. It was only afterwards that I realized that it had only been a month since I've gotten it pierced instead of two, hence the blood. My bad!

Am I the only one that gets reminded of "Greensleaves" when he hears the ending song from The Two Towers (whatever Gollum's theme is called)? This comes especially from someone who's heard the Vanessa Carlton version of that Christmas song.

Speaking of music, I am so happy that I got to see those Saturn roadtrip commercials again. My favorites of course being the "high school" and "wedding" ones. The songs that they have for those are awesome! Makes me bring up my favorite regret. Le sigh...

I hate not having any money! A whole week I have to wait for me to be able to spend again. I'm definitely closing my bank account as soon as I'm out of the hole. Or maybe I'll just chop up my debit card and just revert to carrying cash, using my ATM card and checks.

And I got reviewed. I'm not quite sure how I feel about this. On the one hand, I did set myself up for this and it IS someone else's opinion about me. On the other hand, I don't feel like it was a thoroughly reviewed... er, um, review. Granted a lot of what I write about ARE my daily exploits, I feel that there's enough emo in here to make Morrissey seem stoic. But whatev, it's not the end of the world.

Which PPG are you?

{�S�!}

~A (*creepy hissy voice* Feels so good inside...)

.

{MTV's annual popularity contest}
29 August 2003 @ 3:38 AM

BGM: "Crazy in Love" by Beyonc�
Wanting: an awards show that isn't so retarded
Wearing: white Hanes wifebeater, black/grey Spalding shorts

I'm so very pleased that MTV and all of the mainstream music scene has recognized the band that owns my heart. Coldplay finally got their Moonman at the VMAs last night. I can't describe how happy I am with that. It's like finding out that you had a really eccentric and rich aunt that just died and left you everything. It's like this back-asswards world we live in legalizing same-sex marriage right when Orlando Bloom decides to come out because you caught his attention (or just getting his attention if he's straight and you're a girl). It's like Tucson finally getting a dependable public transit and freeway system, making getting around town oh-so-convenient.

Okay, so maybe the last one's a bit of a stretch, but I've made my point. Though I personally favor "Clocks" more than "The Scientist," the fact that they were up there not only to perform made all the other unjust things in this world seem inconsequential. AND the fact that Mr. Justin "If-I-try-hard-enough-I'll-make-the-world-forget-the-real-Michael-Jackson-every-existed" Timberlake and others were giving them mad props, then pop stars can't be a complete lost cause, right?

Other points that I should address of the night:

Positives:
~Good Charlotte getting the Viewer's Choice Award
~Missy Elliot getting her first two awards
~Chris Rock's opening monologue
~AFI's win

Negatives:
~The whole Duran Duran/Kelly Osbourne/Avril Lavigne portion. Awkward AWKWARD.
~50 Cent winning every other damned award (I bet he would've taken best Female Artist if he could've)
~Madonna frenching Britney and Christina. Oh. Dear. Alanis.
~Evanescance getting shut out. Granted it's not the best song, they still rock. Maybe next year

It was a pretty nice show. Not the best, but then this IS pop music we're talking about and one should probably have extremely low standards for those such things if you want to come out of it satisfied. Though I did feel really out of touch with the scene, I fear that my MTV days are numbered, lest I somehow end up on that channel actually singing something late at night which is the only time that one can hope to whet their music appetite without having to resort to VH1 and their *trails off into incoherence...*

PS: I would also like to say, that while watching the aforementioned popularity contest, I was inundated with commercial break after commercial break. Combine seeing Beyonc� steppin' up to claim a few Moonmen of her own with all those damned Pepsi ads, that's just (to put it in her own words) a whole lotta woman. I think that she has me entranced by her extremely alluring sway. She is a very beautiful woman and if this continued exposure to her continues, she might make a boi change his mind...

Must sleep...

~A (So crazy in love...)

.

{Kiss my ass, Info}
26 August 2003 @ 5:02 PM

BGM: "Overcome" by Live
Wanting: to cause pain and suffering
Wearing: sea green ON polo-style shirt, grey ON cargo pants

I am so PO'ed with the powers that be at Info right now. With the advent of school starting up again, I was mulling over changing my schedule, just for a nice change of pace and get an extra day off (instead of five 8-hour shifts, I'd be working four 10-hour ones). Well, I head heard from the other Aaron on my team (he goes by AJ), that our TM Linda had been on a corrective action kick. So, I that hastened my mental processes and I turned in my request for a schedule change, half-hoping that I'd get switched to a new team with that too.

Anyway, I turned it into to John, one of our Leads, and an all-around awesome guy. He puts it into the computer and we play the waiting game for the next few days.

That takes us to today. At about 4:00-ish, half an hour away from ending a really so-not-worth-getting-out-of-bed day, John comes over to me to talk about it. In short, because of my absences last month (which were in no part my fault, in fact I nary came close to dying), I was put on a written warning and corrective action and because of that, I am not allowed to make any schedule changes until those clear; which is a torturous 90 days. John apologized for not bringing that to my attention as I submitted it, even though it really wasn't his fault. I was so very angry though. I mean, who in hell thinks that this is an acceptable standard proceedure? I mean, I want to get a new frickin' schedule, not apply for some pretentious, 'high-responsibility' managerial position or anything. What the hell is so wrong with that?? John totally sided with me, he told me about how some poor guy almost got fired because he went to his grandfather's funeral. Wow, what a warm and understanding company I work for...

I really like John. He's the only non-CSR in that whole building that I can put 100% of my trust in. He is my champion and he's the only one that I now have confidence in that'll tell me things without having to beat around the bush or glaze over things. I know this all sounds really fruity, but I think that because of him, I'm still there, fighting for what I feel I'm owed.

Now I'm conflicted as to how I should go about blowing this steam off, should I cuddle up and sleep in my forever-welcoming bed, or should I go driving in the Severe-Thunderstorm-Warned streets of Tucson?

~A (I am overcome)

.

{Six degrees of me}
25 August 2003 @ 11:16 AM

BGM: "Lady Marmalade" Moulin Rouge version (don't ask why)
Wanting: a day off
Wearing: grey 'Los Angeles' ON shirt, aqua FTL boxer-briefs

This just came to me last night as I was wasting time online in hopes of getting me sleepy. As I was browsing the links page on my sweetness Jono's site, I decided to check out some of the other sites he had linked. The one that spoke the most to me was Jeroen's kitschy but fun blog. From there, I browsed and looked at all the pretty pictures of slobber-inducing men. It was then that I noticed a familiar face that he linked as one of his "Pretty Boys Make Raves" area was that of local barista (and Matt's 'friend') Richard. Weird thus far, ain't it? Anyway, being that Richard and Matt know each other and if memory serves correctly, was the one that got Matt started on blogging, he naturally had him linked on his site. And since Matt and I have been good friends and roomies, it's natural that he would have lil ol' me on his links too.

So to put it short, it goes a little somethin' like this:

Aaron to Jono
Jono to Jeroen
Jeroen to Richard
Richard to Matt
Matt to Aaron

Real full-circle, huh? Though, I'll say this now, I'm not changing my name to Aaron Bacon.

~A (Marmalaaaaa-aa-a-de)

.

{Requiem for the Summer of '03}
24 August 2003 @ 11:33 PM

BGM: "Boys of Summer" by The Ataris
Wanting: to have been able to have made more memories
Wearing: red/blue Old Navy jersey tee, navy Old Navy shorts

Goodbye Summer '03. You were great. We laughed, we cried, we had our share of embarrassing mistakes that will make us look back upon and shake our heads sheepishly (like *cough* locking my keys in my car *wheeze*). You were not, however, the best. That prize goes to your older sibling, 2001. That summer (and fall) two years ago is the glittering prize winner of a lot of events that I was fortunate enough to write about in my first incarnation. Nevertheless, we still love you.

Actually, it's not making much of a difference in my world that summer's over and school starts for all of my college friends (including my brother) tomorrow. I'm not going and am going to continue with this job that I've had for over a year now and put in front priority of my education last spring. The only reason why this is even being mentioned is because dearest Miranda called me earlier and told me that I'd appreciate the gesture. And I did too, especially being that I'm the emotionally nostalgic lug that I am. Oh, then there's the fact that my baby bro is starting the U of A really puts things in perspective. *Tears* I wish I was going, I wish I did everything different...

~A (Those days are gone forever, I should just let them go, but...)

.

{'Nother random entry}
24 August 2003 @ 1:42 PM

BGM: Madonna's Gap commercial
Wanting: something...
Wearing: same as last night

Nothing much to say. Except for two things of questionable importance. The first is this, an article about local Rocky Horror cast member (and acquaintance) Mark Fontes. It made pretty for pretty big talk around these parts in the days following the incident. I've been told by other cast members that he's an ass and that this is just karma getting back at him, but I never thought of him as one. At least he never acted like an ass to me, so I don't know.

Anyway, the next thing is an update to the X! page. I know you all frequent it, so I shouldn't need to remind you, right? Anyway, just to let you know, updates to that page are usually made on Sundays.

Ichi
Ichi - "That one with wisdom"

What would your Japanese name be? (female)
brought to you by Quizilla

{*High-pitched schoolgirl voice* ICHI-CHAN!!!}

~A (They wanna make it in the neighborhood)

.

{The cars}
24 August 2003 @ 3:36 AM

BGM: "Lifestyles of the Rich and Famous" by Good Charlotte
Wanting: my car's health to improve
Wearing: new Old Navy dark red and navy blue jersey tee and black FTL boxer-briefs

I think my car's just about had it. And so have I. It seems like I have no luck whatsoever when it comes to vehicular health conditions. First, my mom handed me down this literally put-together '81 Buick Cutlass that didn't have any air or radio and towards the end of it's life (right before my next vehicle), started to seriously fail on me.

Next was my longtime trademark '96 Chevy S-10 pick-up. Being the easily impressionable person that I am, I somehow got convinced that I needed this baby and that I would look totally rad driving it. Well, aside from the fact that the windshield wipers never worked properly (even when I took it for a test drive at the car lot *stupid Car Store*), the radiator core broke and the obviously inept staff at Jack Furrier's never fixed it right, prompting my uncle to have to break into the radiator from inside the cab and replace it himself.

Now my latest drama comes directly from my sweet Golden Goddess Mina. My '98 Plymouth Breeze that I've only had since late December has given me a good share of greif. From the window scratches and bent railing on the driver's side windows when it was broken into when I foolishly left my brother in charge of it when I went to Disneyland in January to today, it's been a real princess, and not in the girly, frilly, pretty sense either.

The Problema du jour happened today when my aunt, my two cousins and I went to go visit my mom in Florence. I was under the impression that there was still an Old Navy store at the Tanger Outlets in Casa Grande (right near to Florence), so I decided to do that since we were going to be in the area. Sadly for me, not only was there no longer my store of choice there, but The Gap (Old Navy's parent company) store was SO VERY OVERPRICED. I could've easily shelled out $25 for a damned button-up shirt.

Anyway, back to my car problems, once we left the outlets and got the parking lot at our destination, my car just shut off before I could put it in park. My aunt said it was probably due to the fact that I had the AC on, but I think I know better. That aside, on the way back home, the car starts doing little jerks forward while in motion, almost like convulsions. It's way baffling.

What's tragic for me is that I don't have the money to take it in and get looked at properly. Mom thinks it might just be a need for more transmission fluid, and I'm prayin' that it'll be that simple, but my closeted pessimism tells me otherwise.

*Sighs*... I just wish that I didn't always have life give me it's lessons so hard. Granted the rich and fabulous have their own problems separate from those of us everyday peons, they still have it a lot easier, at least they can throw money at most of their problems.

~A (If money is such a problem, well they've got mansions, think we should rob them)

.


{where do i start?}
i am... a dancer and a dreamer, latino, gay, a singer, a poet, an artist, a son, a brother, no one's lover, way too obsessed with sailor moon for my own good, a romantic, temporarily unemployed, and too much more to list here

{emotional me}
The current mood of invernal at www.imood.com

{fly me to the moon}
previous
next
now
older
bio
random
x!
rings
fans
design
diaryland

{reach out and touch me}
email
guestbook
notes
aim
profile

{i lurve these people}
abby
cosmicnoise
pixiesticks
rb colorkid
dosei
expurgate
margaret cho
kitty magic
punkstyle
trannyboi
rusty
bluelaser
randix
quatrelenium
earthensoul
booth-bitch
kilgoretrout
dizboy
devian
tubaboy
grenjelybean
patw-21
sparklz24
cactustree
ihateshoes
rushofblood
lvrebelman
jarf
bloodsun
piecesof8
simages
lv2write00
favoritesong
gaygamer
robinthecity

{sprites!}
Sailor Luna: Chibi-usa, reenvisioned Sailor Moon: at least this gif has the ponytails hanging properly; BEHIND her Tuxedo Kamen: aka - T3H M45K3D MULL37
Sailor Jupiter: who? Sailor Mercury: once was lost, now a geek Sailor Mars: Venus' girltoy Sailor Venus: Mars' daddy

{cool-style}
i was always blue-green cuz we are living in a material world...
# Gay Diary ?
Haruka to Michiru kirei
invited by the new age, i am sailorneptune, acting gracefully
typical genki schoolgirls by day, ass-kicking heroines in color-coded mini-skirts by night!
watch out for that mercury chick, she'll inhale you in one breath
we never change, do we?
can wang
L33T
Gone, but not forgotten: 
Buffy the Vampire Slayer 
~1997-2003~
It was a thing
Searing Idolitray - The Legion of Nerdy Doom Page
I adoped Andrew!